Rethinking Anarchism


Notes on Student Syndicalism
June 23, 2009, 3:50 am
Filed under: Random Shit | Tags: , , , ,

I wasted 3 1/2 years of my life in pointless pseudo-radical campus organizing projects. Here’s what I think I should have been doing:

1. Actively supporting labor struggles through organizing, community education, and direct action

2. Learning the skills of community and workplace organizing through training and experience

3. Learning the history of labor struggles and various theories of organization

4. Organizing a union of students to fight for our interests.

This is pretty much what I’d like to see a student union movement do in the US. The group could move through these tasks more-or-less sequentially. First, organize in solidarity with unions and workers. Second, get training and experience in organizing. Third, during this process, learn the histor and theory of radical labor. Fourth, organize a militant student union to fight against tuition increases, student debt, and unfair treatment.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is one of the best ideas about involving students in activism I have ever run across. Have you ever had any discussions/ideas about the IWW having some sort of youth/student branch? I know there is the I.U. for school and university workers, and I favor the autonomist definition of students as workers, but I feel like that is inadequate for what you are talking about.
I would love to hear more about this and discuss it.

Comment by A is for ...




Leave a Reply

